Dala is a village of nearly 1000 inhabitants in Vojvodina. It is connected to Hungary by a border crossing. The pride of the village is the Baroque Serbian Orthodox Church, built in 1794 in the main square, and the walnut trees of Gyála, of which there are more than 1050, even more than the village’s inhabitants. Centuries earlier, another settlement called Kisgyála stood on the site of Gyála, but only a church ruin remains. The locals still call this area Mala-Gyala, or Kis-Gyála (Little Gyála). Gyála was most probably founded in the 15th century, but according to a mid 16th century census there were only 16 serfs living in the village. In the 1580s it was still recorded as an inhabited settlement, but soon afterwards it was deserted and the houses were destroyed. By the end of the 17th century, after the expulsion of the Turks, it began to be populated again. By the time of the Rákóczi War of Independence, the village had 35 houses. After the War of Independence of 1848-49, a local nobleman, Géza Szapáry, had a castle built in the village.