Church of St Michael
The town of 44 000 inhabitants is the second most populous town in Pest County. It has protected areas for nature conservation and bird protection. It is also famous for its horse sport, which dates back to 1889. One of the most famous of its cultural buildings is the Church of St. Michael, which is a ’church in the church’. It was built by the former landowner of Dunakeszi, Count Antal Grassalkovich, royal chamberlain, and consecrated on 29 September 1756, St. Michael's Day. By the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, the church building was too small for the Hungarian-speaking local Catholic community. As a result, in 1935, after nearly two centuries, the parish priest asked architect Gyula Oszvaldik to draw up plans for a new church. However, the "Old Church", which had been outgrown by local believers, was not demolished, but enlarged, retaining the original small church, which is now the left-side aisle of the present church. The new church was completed in 1936-1937 in neo-baroque style. The patron saint of the church is the archangel St. Michael, the angel of loyalty and protection of the faith, who led Lucifer to hell as punishment for his rebellion against the Lord.